Narrative

School Start Times, beneficial or not?

It was another average first period class at Blackhawk Middle School. The sky was dark and bleak, and the classroom was dull and muted. As all FWCS students know, middle schools begin at 7:20am. Although this might sound like a beneficial start time, others oppose. Around the Algebra 1 classroom, students seem to be working on their PSL’s. Groups of students with their heads low, fixated on their work. However, if you look intently, it seems that these students are having some trouble with keeping their heads up off their desks.

In the morning, during first period, it seems like students are working on their assignments, reading a book, ect. Although one student realizes that their fellow peers are actually fatigued and drooping. Despite the fact that these students are trying to stay somewhat focused in class, their lack of sleep seems to be pulling them back from their objective.

Picture this, all middle schools that are in the FWCS district, begin at 7:20am. Therefore, students have to wake up between  5;30 to 6 am in order to make it to school on time. Every person should receive at least 7 to 8 hours of sleep a day.  Although that is the average sleeping time, the amount of sleep you receive per night depends on your physical activity and your age.  Children ranging from ages 3 to 5 years old should attain 10 to 13 hours of sleep.  Children 6 to 13 years old should receive  9 to 11 hours of sleep.  Teens ages 14 to 17 should gain 8 to ten hours of sleep. Finally, adults should acquire at least 7 to 9 hours of sleep. Notice the difference between children ages 3 to 5 and adults. Adults obtain less amounts of sleep than younger children, due to the fact that adults are more preoccupied with things such as work, parenting, and other responsibilities.  On the other hand, younger children do not have to deal with numerous responsibilities like adults. Therefore, children have more time on their hands.  Although, this is a different story for students.

Some seemed to think that school start times shouldn’t affect students’ sleep times and performance within the classroom, but according to the NCBI, “Although getting enough sleep may not seem that big of a deal, medical research shows that teens who usually get too little sleep are more likely to struggle in school.” When you sleep, your brain is preparing you for the next day, Receiving enough sleep is crucial for adolescents.  The lack of sleep can induce multiple physical, emotional, and mental issues. This would be a serious issue considering the fact that adolescents’  are changing in health, hormones, and overall, growth .”Every morning, I would always go to school with a negative attitude, because I didn’t get enough sleep, the night before, I would easily get upset over pretty much anything!” says Adesewa, an 8th grade student attending Blackhawk Middle School.

All adolescents go through a phase called puberty. During this phase, juveniles become more sleepy late and night and are most likely to sleep later in the morning.  This is why students feel undoubtedly fatigued early in the morning.  A student currently attending Blackhawk Middle School says,” I earn 8 hours of sleep a day. I’m not happy with the amount of sleep I get though. I absolutely feel different when the amount of sleep I get changes.” -Jaclyn Polley.

Based on the results of a survey, 50% of the teens surveyed say that they feel a lot more fatigued than usual if their sleeping schedule changes. Paris Drew, currently an 8th grade student attending Blackhawk Middle School says that she receives 8- 9 hours of sleep. She is okay with the amount of sleep, she gets per night, although she does feel more tired without enough sleep. Paris also believes that school should start later in the morning so teens can get a proper amount of sleep. Mia Hill, who is also currently an 8th grade student, says, “I earn 7-8 hours of sleep. I sometimes receive less sleep than usual, because of sleep paralysis. However, I am satisfied with the hours I get per night. I feel terrible when my sleeping schedule changes, especially in the beginning of the school year, because I’m so used to sleeping longer during summer vacation. I wish school started later so I can earn more sleeping time.”

“When I was in elementary school, I earned a lot more sleep, because school started around 8:20am. That’s why my performance in school was beyond fantastic and it was very easy for me to focus. I was also happier about school. Now that middle school only starts at 7;20am, I get less amounts of sleep and its harder for me to focus and lighten up my mood. Who knew that an extra hour of sleep could do so much for not only my behavior, but also my health!” says Adesewa.

 

Sources: http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/adult-health/expert-answers/how-many-hours-of-sleep-are-enough/faq-20057898), students from Blackhawk Middle School

An informal survey conducted by a student

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *